The Government today announced the 2023 St Patrick’s Day programme, which will see the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Government Ministers take part in an extensive international programme to promote Ireland and Irish interests around the world.

This year’s programme will see the widest yet engagement by Ireland with Ministers reaching out to partner Governments and Irish communities on every continent.

In all, 36 representatives of the State will bring Ireland’s message to 74 cities in 44 countries.

St Patrick’s Day offers an unmatched opportunity to promote Ireland abroad.

It is an important part of the Government’s ‘Global Ireland’ strategy which seeks to promote Ireland as an outstanding location to live, visit, work, invest in, trade with, and study.

This year, St Patrick’s Day will mark ‘100 Years of Ireland in the World’, a century of our country’s engagement as an active member of the international community in the promotion of democracy, peace and security.

Ministers will acknowledge a number of important milestones which occur this year: The centenary of Ireland’s joining the League of Nations, the fiftieth anniversary of our accession to the then EEC, and the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement.

Ministers will emphasise Ireland’s commitment to the international rules-based multilateral system, our membership of the European Union and our commitment to protecting the Good Friday Agreement.

The Ministerial programme will celebrate our heritage and renew our links with our global Diaspora and business leaders.

The objectives for the SPD 2023 programme are as follows:

  • On its 25th anniversary, to reiterate our support for consolidating the achievements of the Good Friday Agreement;
  • Emphasise the importance and value of our membership of the European Union on the 50th anniversary of our accession to the European Communities;
  • Re-affirm Ireland’s steadfast commitment to the people of Ukraine;
  • Connect with Irish communities overseas and emphasise the importance of our Diaspora;
  • Build further on relationships with key political leaders, business leaders, decision makers, influencers and stakeholders across the world;
  • Celebrate Ireland’s contemporary and traditional arts, culture and heritage;
  • Promote Ireland as a great place to live, visit, work, invest in, trade with, and study.

The following visits will take place as part of the St. Patrick’s Day programme:

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar US – Washington
Tánaiste Micheál  Martin US – New York, Boston
Minister Eamon Ryan Singapore & China -Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghai
Minister Michael McGrath US – Chicago & Toronto
Minister Paschal Donohoe Germany –  Frankfurt, Cologne, Berlin
Minister Simon Coveney Australia – Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Canberra, Perth
Minister Norma Foley US – Philadelphia
Minister Catherine Martin US – Los Angeles, San Diego
Minister Darragh O’Brien US – Atlanta & Savannah
Minister Heather Humphreys UK – London & England
Minister Charlie McConalogue New Zealand – Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch
Minister Roderic O’Gorman India – Delhi, Mumbai, & Bangladesh – Dhaka
Minister Stephen Donnelly Canada
Minister Simon Harris US – San Francisco & Canada -Vancouver
Chief Whip & Minister of State Hildegarde Naughton US –  Miami & Mexico
Minister of State Peter Burke Italy & Holy See
Minister of State Sean Fleming Brazil
Minister of State Patrick O’Donovan Thailand & Indonesia
Minister of State Ossian Smyth Belgium & Netherlands
Minister of State Josepha Madigan UAE & Qatar
Minister of State Niall Collins Malaysia & Philippines
Minister of State Jack Chambers Japan
Minister of State Senator Pippa Hackett Kenya & Tanzania
Minister of State Martin Heydon Korea
Minister of State Anne Rabbitte South Africa – Johannesburg, Pretoria, Cape Town
Minister of State Neale Richmond Spain & Portugal
Minister of State Joe O’Brien Poland
Minister of State Kieran O’Donnell Croatia & Slovenia
Minister of State Malcolm Noonan Austria & Slovakia & Czechia & Romania
Minister of State Dara Calleary France – Paris, Strasbourg, Lyon
Minister of State Thomas Byrne US – Austin Dallas & Texas
Minister of State Jennifer Carroll MacNeill UK -Edinburgh, Cardiff, Liverpool
Minister of State James Browne Cyprus & Jordan
Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl Lebanon
Cathaoirleach Jerry Buttimer Sierra Leone & Liberia
Attorney General Rossa Fanning SC Argentina & Chile